Public Health Colleges

Master’s degree · Dedicated public health program

Public Health (M.P.H.)

Old Dominion University · Norfolk, Virginia, United States

Visit Official PageOfficial ApplicationRequest Information
Award
Master of Public Health
Format
Hybrid
GRE
GRE not required
Tuition
Not published

About this program

CEPH-accredited MPH from the Joint School of Public Health with a community-based practicum placement in Hampton Roads.

Institution
Old Dominion UniversityJoint School of Public Health
School or department
Joint School of Public Health, Department of Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Environmental Health
Subject
General public health, Epidemiology, Environmental healthRecorded only where the official page names a specialization or formal concentration, not for individual electives.

Accreditation

Specialized public health accreditation covers the named school or program only. It is separate from the institution’s regional or national accreditation, and it does not apply to every degree at a university.

  • Verified in official recordCouncil on Education for Public HealthSpecialized public health accreditation

    Accreditation status: Accredited

    Scope: Joint School of Public Health (Old Dominion University - Norfolk State University)

    Status: accredited. Published term: Accredited through 12/31/2031. Checked November 1, 2026. Official record

A public health degree does not by itself grant a clinical or professional license. Awarded by a degree-granting institution. A public health degree does not by itself grant a clinical or professional license.

Structure and format

Qualification
Master’s degree
Exact award
Master of Public Health
Duration
Not published
Credits
Not published
Delivery
HybridPart online and part in person. A hybrid program is never described as fully online; required campus time is shown.
Where students can enroll
Not stated on the pages we checkedOnline enrollment can be restricted by state authorization. The institution is based in Norfolk, Virginia.
Live or recorded
Live or recorded not stated
Study intensity
Not publishedThe program page lists both online and on-campus delivery modes.
Campus
Norfolk main campus5115 Hampton Blvd, VA 23529

Applied practice, fieldwork and capstone

Practicum, internship and field placements are kept separate from required campus attendance. As published by the institution; none of this guarantees employment.

Practicum or applied practice
Includes a community-based practicum placement with a working public health organization in Hampton Roads.

Admissions

GRE not required

The official page says the GRE is not required (or not accepted).

GRE details
The page states the MPH does not require the GRE, GMAT or MCAT.
Minimum GPA
2.80
SOPHAS
The official page says applications are made through SOPHAS
International applicants
Not confirmed
Deadlines
Not published
Official application link
Application instructions

Tuition and fees

USD, as published. Each figure keeps its billing basis (per credit, per term, per year or whole program), its residency category and the academic year it applies to. Annual, per-credit and total-program figures are never mixed.

Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current tuition, mandatory fees and refund terms.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, application deadline.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked November 1, 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Request a correction