Doctoral degree · Professional doctorate (applied practice) · Dedicated public health program
Doctor of Public Health (DrPH) in Leadership, Practice, and Research
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey · Newark, New Jersey, United States
- Award
- Doctor of Public Health
- Format
- Online with campus visitsPart time
- GRE
- GRE optional
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Part-time hybrid doctorate for mid- to senior-career professionals, mostly online with on-campus executive sessions.
- Institution
- Rutgers, The State University of New JerseyRutgers School of Public Health
- School or department
- Not published
- Subject
- Health management & policyRecorded only where the official page names a specialization or formal concentration, not for individual electives.
- Characteristics
- Executive or working-professional format
Accreditation
Specialized public health accreditation covers the named school or program only. It is separate from the institution’s regional or national accreditation, and it does not apply to every degree at a university.
Specialized accreditation not confirmed for this program
Institution-level records with their scope (not assumed to cover this program)
Verified in official recordCouncil on Education for Public HealthSpecialized public health accreditation
Accreditation status: Accredited
Scope: School of Public Health
Status: accredited. Published term: (9/18/1986) 7/1/2031. Checked November 1, 2026. Official record
A public health degree does not by itself grant a clinical or professional license. Awarded by a degree-granting institution. A public health degree does not by itself grant a clinical or professional license.
Structure and format
- Qualification
- Doctoral degreeProfessional doctorate (applied practice)
- Exact award
- Doctor of Public Health
- Duration
- Not published
- Credits
- Not published
- Delivery
- Online with campus visitsCoursework is online but the program requires one or more campus visits, as the institution describes them.
- Required campus attendance
- Students attend on-campus executive sessions a maximum of five times during their first two years.
- Where students can enroll
- Not stated on the pages we checkedOnline enrollment can be restricted by state authorization. The institution is based in New Brunswick, New Jersey.
- Live or recorded
- Live or recorded not stated
- Study intensity
- Part timeThe DrPH is a part-time hybrid program; full-time study is not permitted
- Campus
- Rutgers School of Public Health, Newark
Applied practice, fieldwork and capstone
Practicum, internship and field placements are kept separate from required campus attendance. As published by the institution; none of this guarantees employment.
- Campus attendance
- Students attend executive sessions on campus up to five times in the first two years.
Admissions
GRE optional
Applicants may submit scores, but the official page says submitting them is optional.
- GRE details
- The DrPH page lists GRE or equivalent scores as optional.
- Minimum GPA
- Not published
- Work experience
- Minimum five years of professional experience in a public health or health-related setting.
- SOPHAS
- Not confirmed
- International applicants
- Not confirmed
- Deadlines
- Not published
Tuition and fees
USD, as published. Each figure keeps its billing basis (per credit, per term, per year or whole program), its residency category and the academic year it applies to. Annual, per-credit and total-program figures are never mixed.
Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current tuition, mandatory fees and refund terms.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, application deadline, practicum requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked November 1, 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked November 1, 2026)